I have discovered a love/hate relationship with tiny airports. And by tiny I will reference MAF (Midland-Odessa, TX). It only has 5 gates.
The reasons for the Love-not listed by order of importance
1) It is not a dire necessity to arrive 2 hours before your flight departure because from the entrance to departure gate, only 5 to 8 minutes is needed. Yes even with security, most times. There is no requirement for attempting to break land speed records to get to your departure gate (An impossibility, for me, being on the butterball-ish side of the weight scale)
2) As mentioned mere seconds ago, security is a pretty seamless event, most times (this will be qualified later on)
3) The tiny airport is not teeming with wildlife…I mean people…so finding that ideal spot to plug in my 600 electronics and have nice sunlight with which to read by is not a study in pointlessness.
4) (The following only applies if you are travelling on a Friday, getting home after 3pm and it is September 13, 2013…IT’S THE 13th?!?!?!?!) The gate agent approaches you and offers you the following: Bumped to next flight out for $400 flight and a meal voucher with only a 2 hour delay in arriving home…oh and 1,000 miles added to your account. To which I reply, “I WILL TAKE IT!!!!!”

The reasons for the Hate-not listed in order of importance, but in direct opposition the list above
1) There is absolutely nothing of interest to entertain you as you wait 2 ½ hours for your flight. MAF-one cafeteria, eatery-ish and one store, which if you are not a Texan Longhorn fan will present little interest to you
2) This could be number 1b, but for the sake of OCD, I’m trying to match the lists. As I mentioned earlier, there really is no need to arrive 2 hours early for tiny airports. Even if you are gassing up/dropping off a rental, and have to go through security (Tiny airport=1 hour to 1 ½-max). This being said, I have a pet peeve for being anywhere late and then subsequently having to rush. This pet peeve coupled with the irrational, quease-inducing fear of missing flights, always…ALWAYS…compels me to arrive at the airport 2 ½ hours earlier than I need to. So I wait and wait and wait with absolutely nothing to do but search and search for that ideal spot (found in 1 minute), plug in my 600 electronics and read.
3) This could be 1b, but I’ve already told you what’s doing with lists! There are times (apart from the “most times” that the tiny airport is holding more bodies than you could ever imagine- a confounding mystery- and you are now relegated to one of these two spots-the floor or between 2 individuals that inexplicably need the entire row of seats. SIDE NOTE: I am a bit people claustrophobic, so it’s always the floor for me in this situation. Currently not so bad as I am only 32 and getting up and down is not so difficult, but still not as easy as it was when I was 22. One last thing. Since this time the tiny airport is teeming with wildlife…I mean people…the security becomes such an event, you think you are in the Immigrations line at Heathrow airport in London…England (a 2 hour line…maybe more).
4) There really isn’t a number four, but…yeah…However; number one does bear repeating I think, and maybe some expansion. Nothing to do but read, and while I LOVE to read and can happily spend hours and hours doing so, sometimes I get restless waiting in an airport and need something else-for diversification purposes-to occupy myself. Options are detrimentally sparse at MAF (BTR, and the airport in Killen, TX). So I decide to busy myself and bore the 2 people who read these work Facebook posts with this musing-turned diatribe-ish ode of sorts.
You are welcome!

